Visit a special venue

Aerial view Fort Napoleon Visit Fort Napoleon (show large version)

Fort Napoleon

At the end of the 18th century, France annexed the region. Napoleon feared an invasion from England via Ostend harbour and therefore ordered an imposing fort to be built in the dunes in 1811. In both world wars, the fort got a new lease of life as artillery quarter for the German army. Since 1995, Erfgoed Vlaanderen (the Flemish Heritage Association) has managed the fort. It made sure it was restored and turned into an open monument.

Due to renovation works the Fort Napoleon is closed from September 2018 until summer 2019.

 

Mercator

Arctic traveller Adrien de Gerlache designed this three-master which was built in Scotland. The Mercator had only two commanders and made 54 voyages. In 1956 it repatriated the remains of Father Damien from Molokai. In 1960, it sailed into the harbour of Antwerp and in 1961, it was equipped as a museum ship. Since 1964, it has been the pearl in Ostend’s crown.

MU.ZEE

Mu.ZEE is the museum for Belgian art with absolute openness and accessibility. It tells stories with a unique Belgian art collection from 1830 to now and is in constant conversation with the international art scene through its state-of-the-art exhibition programme and collection policy. Artists and public will find each other in a museum where they can experiment, question and discover.

Raversyde

  • Atlantic wall: Walk through two world wars via bunkers and trenches... More than sixty bunkers, observation posts and gun batteries connected with two kilometres of open and underground passages together form one of the best preserved parts of the German Atlantic wall defences. These German fortifications were built during WWII from the French-Spanish border in the south all the way up to Norway. The domain also houses the only preserved German coastal battery from WWI. The Prince Charles memorial honours Belgium’s Prince Charles who was Prince Regent of the country from 1944 until 1950 and made the domain his home after his regency.
  • ANNO 1465: A medieval fishing village revived after 500 years... Step into the lives of 15th-century fishing families in Walraversijde. Three houses and a bakery were lovingly reconstructed with excavated bricks and faithful replicas of furniture and other household items. The audio guide with the voices of the medieval villagers accompanies visitors through the unique site. The original items that were excavated tell the lives of the villagers in more depth in the adjoining museum. NATURE PARK 50 hectares of unique nature experience on the Coast... Raversyde is a unique piece of nature at the Belgian coast. The domain of almost 50 hectares is partially located in protected dunes and offers visitors a wonderful area to explore on foot.

City museum

The museum tells you Ostend’s fascinating life story and also casts light on its future. A host of objects, posters, documents and multimedia applications reveal the secrets behind the development of the city, its tourism, fishing industry and shipping.

Why Ostend?
  • Your specialist for meetings, incentives and conferences

  • Large choice of meeting rooms, gastronomic restaurants and teambuilding activities

  • Ostend is easy accessible and all major venues are within walking distance from each other

Contact us

Visitez à un endroit spécial

Vue aérienne du Fort  Napoléon Visite au Fort Napoléon (montrer le version agrandie)

Fort Napoleon

À la fin du 18e siècle, la France annexa nos contrées. En 1811, Napoléon, craignant que les Anglais attaquent le port d’Ostende, donna l’ordre de construire un fort imposant dans les dunes. Durant les deux guerres mondiales, le fort redevient un quartier d’artillerie pour l’armée allemande. La fondation Erfgoed Vlaanderen gère le Fort Napoléon depuis 1995. Erfgoed Vlaanderen a restauré le monument et l’a ouvert au public.

A cause des travaux le Fort Napoleon est fermé de septembre 2018 jusqu’à l’été de 2019.

 

Mercator

Ce trois-mâts fut conçu par l’explorateur de l’Antarctique Adrien de Gerlache et construit en Écosse. Le Mercator ne connut que deux commandants et effectua 54 voyages. En 1936, il ramena la dépouille du père Damien. En 1960, le Mercator entra au port d’Anvers. En 1961, il fut aménagé en navire musée. Depuis 1964, le Mercator est un des joyaux d’Ostende.

MU.ZEE

Mu.ZEE est le musée par excellence de l’art belge, offrant une ouverture et une accessibilité optimales. Il raconte des histoires grâce à une collection unique d’art belge, de 1830 à nos jours. Son programme d’expositions faisant autorité et sa politique relative aux collections lui permettent de dialoguer avec la scène artistique internationale. Artistes et public se trouvent dans ce musée où ils peuvent expérimenter, questionner et découvrir.

Raversyde

  • Atlantik Wall: Promenez-vous à travers les deux guerres mondiales, dans des bunkers et des tranchées... Plus de soixante bunkers, postes d'observation et positions de tir, reliés par deux kilomètres de galeries à ciel ouvert ou souterraines, forment une des parties les mieux conservées du Mur de l'Atlantique, la ligne de défense allemande. Cet ouvrage a été construit par les Allemands pendant la Seconde guerre mondiale et s'étend de la frontière franco-espagnole jusqu'à la Norvège. Le domaine abrite également la seule batterie côtière allemande de la Première Guerre mondiale encore conservée. Le Mémorial Prince Charles perpétue le souvenir du prince Charles, qui s'installa sur le domaine après sa régence (1944-1950).
  • ANNO 1465: Un village de pêcheurs médiéval revit après 500 ans... Découvrez la vie d'une famille de pêcheurs du XVe siècle, à Walraversijde. Trois maisons et une boulangerie ont été reconstruites, à l'aide de briques trouvées sur place lors de fouilles. Tout le mobilier et les objets sont des répliques fidèles à la réalité. Un audioguide permet aux habitants médiévaux des lieux de guider les visiteurs à travers ce site unique. Dans le musée, vous pourrez admirer les objets originaux et en apprendre plus sur la vie des villageois. NATUURPARK 50 hectares d'une nature exceptionnelle au Littoral... Raversyde est un site naturel unique de notre Littoral. Le domaine se trouve en partie dans une zone dunaire protégée et, avec une superficie de près de 50 hectares, offre aux visiteurs un cadre de promenade unique.

Musée de la ville

Le musée vous présente la passionnante histoire d’Ostende et vous propose également une projection du futur. Les secrets enfouis du développement de la ville, du tourisme, de la pèche, du port et de la navigation vous seront dévoilés par le biais d’objets, d’affiches, de documents et d’applications multimedia.

Pourquoi Ostende?
  • Votre spécialiste pour des réunions, incentives et conférences

  • Large choix de salles de réunion, restaurants gastronomiques et d'activités de team building

  • Ostende est facilement accessible et tous les lieux importants se trouvent à distance de marche les uns des autres

Contactez-nous