The James Ensor House

 (show large version)

You can only understand James Ensor and his art if you visit Ostend The house where he worked and lived from 1917 until his death has been preserved in its original state, so you can still visit it today. While the Ensor House was already open to the public, its potential was not fully utilised. That is why the City of Ostend acquired the adjoining dwellings, adding 690 sqm to the house. 

The buildings were converted into an interactive experience centrum that introduces you to Ensor and his world. These rooms, which are decorated with authentic furniture, life-size reproductions and small documentary presentations, offer a unique opportunity to explore the space where the artist worked and lived. Five rooms each shine a spotlight on a specific theme:

  1. Introduction to Ensor’s world
  2. Interiors
  3. Ensor’s public life
  4. Criticism
  5. Masks and strange figures

You learn more about the many facets of this interesting artist. 

Every target group, from art connoisseurs to children, is introduced to Ensor and his world on their level in an interactive presentation. Visitors are also given tailor-made audio guides. Gust Van Yper, Ensor’s manservant, guides the youngest visitors through the house. A privileged experience. Gust reveals countless anecdotes about the many famous people that visited him, about life in the house and the family members. Here you can sense, listen to and see James Ensor. Your visit ends in the museum proper. The museum hosts several temporary exhibitions in collaboration with the Ensor expert Xavier Tricot. 

BUY TICKETS

This is it!

Your contact details

Ask a question or fill in your specific needs below.
Why Ostend?
  • Your specialist for meetings, incentives and conferences

  • Large choice of meeting rooms, gastronomic restaurants and teambuilding activities

  • Ostend is easy accessible and all major venues are within walking distance from each other

La Maison James Ensor

 (montrer le version agrandie)

Si vous voulez vagabonder dans l’esprit de James Ensor, venez à Ostende. Cette maison était son point de chute, où il a vécu et travaillé de 1917 jusqu’à sa mort, et elle est restée dans son état d’origine. Ainsi, vous pouvez encore aujourd’hui visiter la maison telle qu’elle était de son vivant. La maison Ensor était déjà ouverte au public, mais son potentiel n’était pas pleinement exploité. C’est la raison pour laquelle les bâtiments attenants, d’une surface de 690 m², ont été achetés.

Ils ont été transformés en un centre d'expérience interactif qui présente James Ensor et son univers. Aménagé avec des meubles d’époque ainsi que des reproductions grandeur nature, et accompagné de courtes présentations, cet espace vous permet de ressentir l’âme du lieu de vie et de travail de l’artiste de manière unique. Les cinq salles d’expérience proposent chacune un thème différent :

  1. Introduction au monde de James Ensor
  2. Intérieurs
  3. La vie publique de James Ensor
  4. La critique
  5. Masques et drôles de figures

Les nombreuses facettes de l’artiste vous sont présentées en détail. 

Chaque groupe cible, des enfants aux connaisseurs, fait connaissance avec James Ensor et son univers de manière interactive, en fonction de son niveau. Chaque visiteur dispose d’un audio-guide personnalisé. Gust Van Yper, l’ancien valet de James Ensor, accompagne les jeunes visiteurs tout au long de la visite. Un véritable privilège. Pendant cette visite, Gust Van Yper révèle quantité d’anecdotes sur les nombreuses célébrités ayant séjourné chez James Ensor, ainsi que sur la vie à la maison et les membres de la famille. Vous pouvez entendre James Ensor, le voir et ressentir sa présence. La visite se termine dans la salle du musée, qui accueille de nombreuses expositions temporaires organisées en collaboration avec l’expert de l'œuvre de James Ensor : Xavier Tricot.

ACHETER DES TICKETS

Ça y est !

Vos coordonnées

Posez une question ou remplissez vos besoins spécifiques ci-dessous.
Pourquoi Ostende?
  • Votre spécialiste pour des réunions, incentives et conférences

  • Large choix de salles de réunion, restaurants gastronomiques et d'activités de team building

  • Ostende est facilement accessible et tous les lieux importants se trouvent à distance de marche les uns des autres